plus minus gleich

Search our website

AQUELLE FLAVOURED WATER

E-mail Print PDF

8 Jamaadil Ula 1433 – 1 April 2012

AQUELLE FLAVOURED WATER



THEIR MISLEADING RESPONSE

In response to our  announcement that

AQUELLE FLAVOURED WATER IS HARAAM


The Aquelle Management wrote:

"In response to  a leaflet sent out by The Majlis we confirm
that according to current South African legislation
(Foodstuffs, Cosmetics and Disinfectants Act, 1972 –Act 54 of 1972)
and Regulation  146 Relating to the Labelling and Advertising of Foodstuffs) all aQuelle flavoured drinks are classified
ALCOHOL FREE."

This response is highly misleading for Muslims. Firstly, our enquiry does not concern the classification of a product as 'alcohol free' IN TERMS OF CURRENT SOUTH AFRICAN LEGISLATION.  The  issue of interest to Muslims for the purpose of consumption of a product is  'ALCOHOL FREE IN TERMS OF SHARIAH LEGISLATION'

While "current South African legislation" classifies Aquelle  flavored drinks as 'alcohol free', in terms of the Shariah AQUELLE FLAVOURED DRINKS ARE HARAAM BECAUSE  SUCH DRINKS CONTAIN ALCOHOL. THIS IS OUR CONTENTION, AND WE CHALLENGE THE Aquelle Management to disprove us.

According to current South African legislation if a product  contains a certain minute  amount of alcohol, it  can be   legally advertised 'alcohol free', and such legal advertisement may be utilized to legally deceive the Muslim community and to trick Muslims into believing that the product is totally free of alcohol.

We now call on the Aquelle Management to clarify unequivocally in the  literal and true meaning which every Tom, Dick and Harry and every moron can understand, the following issues:

(1)  Are the concentrates/essences you use  to produce your flavoured drinks 100% free of alcohol?  

(2)  If not totally free (and most certainly they are not totally free), state the percentage per litre of alcohol content in the concentrates you use.

(3)  For the purposes of the Muslim community, forget about the deception of 'Alcohol Free in terms of current South African legislation". State with clarity and without any tongue-twisting in   common terms whether your flavoured drinks are free of alcohol.

(4)  If any of you flavoured drinks are  in entirety free of alcohol,  enumerate these flavours.

(5)   Enumerate the flavours which do contain alcohol in terms of  common understanding, not in terms of "current South African legislation".

(6)  Whilst you may have flavours which are totally free of alcohol in the end product, explain to us if the concentrates used in such end products are alcoholic, and the percentage of alcohol in the concentrates used to produce  such end products in which there is literally no  alcohol residue.

FOR THE INFORMATION OF THE MUSLIM COMMUNITY


AQUELLE


FLAVOURED DRINKS


ARE HARAAM

Last Updated on Monday, 02 April 2012 16:16  

Moon Phase